FFP Guides

Software comparison

AroFlo vs Fergus for a plumbing and gas business

AroFlo's single plan is $80 a user a month, 3 user minimum, so a 3 person crew starts at $240. Fergus splits into Essentials from $53 and Professional from $77, without publishing what extra users add. AroFlo bundles compliance and asset tracking in; Fergus keeps Health & Safety and Job Phases on Professional only. Each vendor's own page, checked 25 September 2026.

Last checked 25 Sep 2026 against the sources listed at the end of this page.

AroFlo

Pick AroFlo if your gas or plumbing work needs compliance and safety forms plus asset tracking switched on for every technician from day one, and you can live without a named staged invoicing tool.

Fergus

Pick Fergus Professional if your jobs are commonly billed in stages (rough-in, fit-off, final) and you are willing to confirm the exact per-seat cost with Fergus's sales team once you are past 1 user.

What it costs

AroFlo's pricing page does not state a currency or GST treatment; figures are shown as published. Fergus's page does not state whether its subscription price is GST inclusive, only that GST is applied to invoices raised through it.. Prices captured 25 Sep 2026 from AroFlo and Fergus.

Plan1 user3 users8 usersHow we worked it out
AroFloSingle plan (all features)Not available$240$640 or lessAroFlo requires a 3 user minimum, so there is no 1 user price. 3 users: 3 x $80 = $240. 8 users: 8 x $80 = $640 at the undiscounted starting rate; AroFlo says the real rate falls at volume but does not publish by how much.
FergusEssentialsFrom $53Not publishedNot published$53 is Fergus's own 'from' figure. No published per-seat cost for a 3 or 8 person crew.
FergusProfessionalFrom $77Not publishedNot published$77 is Fergus's own 'from' figure. Needed for Job Phases, Tiered Pricing and Health & Safety; still no published per-seat cost beyond the first user.

Feature by feature

AroFloFergus
Compliance and safety formsInbuilt on the single plan, all users.Health & Safety (Hazards, SWMS) on Professional only; excluded on Essentials.
Asset trackingAssets listed in AroFlo's own navigation; included on the single plan.No named asset management feature in Fergus's own plan comparison table.
Staged or progress invoicingNot named as a specific feature on AroFlo's pricing page.Job Phases and Tiered Pricing, on Professional only.
Accounting syncXero, MYOB, QuickBooks and Reckon.Xero, QuickBooks and MYOB, per the plan comparison table.
SupportIncluded on the plan; hours not published.Email and chat on Essentials; phone, email and chat on Professional.
TrialFree demo, not a self serve trial.14 day free trial, no credit card required.

Declared bias: FFP builds on ServiceM8, not AroFlo or Fergus

FFP Digital is a ServiceM8 developer with no commercial relationship with AroFlo or Fergus. Neither is our product, so this page compares them only on what each vendor publishes about itself, which matters for a plumbing and gas business weighing asset compliance against staged job invoicing.

One all-inclusive plan against a split feature ladder

AroFlo sells one plan for every business: $80 per user a month, minimum 3 users, with compliance and safety forms, project management, a trade CRM and its AI tools included regardless of size. Fergus splits its feature set across two tiers: Essentials from $53 a month leaves out Checklists, Forms, Job Phases, Purchase Orders, Tiered Pricing and the Health & Safety module (Hazards, SWMS); Professional from $77 a month adds all of that plus phone support.

For a gas fitting business that needs SWMS and hazard forms on every job from day one, AroFlo includes that on its single plan while Fergus requires stepping up to Professional to get the same coverage. Fergus does not publish a full user seat cost beyond its starting "from" price, so a 3 or 8 person crew cannot get an exact monthly figure from Fergus's page without contacting sales; AroFlo at least publishes a per-user rate, even without the volume discount schedule.

Staged invoicing vs asset compliance: the real difference

Fergus's Job Phases and Tiered Pricing, on Professional, are built for work billed as it progresses: rough-in, fit-off and final on a gas installation, each invoiced separately as the job moves through stages. AroFlo's own feature list does not name an equivalent staged invoicing tool; its plan instead centres on inbuilt compliance and safety forms plus links to Master Electricians Australia, NECA and BlueSafe, and integrates with Xero, MYOB, QuickBooks and Reckon.

Fergus's own plan comparison table does not list a named asset management feature on either tier, and a Trustpilot review specifically described Fergus's asset management as incomplete for the reviewer's operation. That gap is where AroFlo is the stronger published option for a plumbing and gas business that needs to track compliance dated equipment (gas certification, backflow devices, testable assets) alongside the job itself.

Common complaints and catches

AroFlo

  • Onboarding and initial setup described as clunky by some reviewers
  • Global calendar seen as short on multi location scheduling functionality
  • Interface inconsistencies reported as confusing for less experienced users
  • Support engagement described as variable by a minority of reviewers

Fergus

  • Xero integration reported as breaking, including blank invoice emails, by at least one reviewer
  • Price increases roughly every 6 to 12 months reported without matching new features
  • Asset management described by a reviewer as incomplete for their operation
  • Positive: interface, all in one workflow and mobile app rated well by most reviewers

Switching between them

Both integrate with Xero and MYOB, so customer and invoice history generally has a path across. AroFlo's pricing page does not describe a job history export if you leave; Fergus bills removed seats in arrears to the end of the billing period. Confirm both in writing before switching either way.

FFP Digital is a ServiceM8 developer and builds for Cliniko clinics. We have tried to be fair; prices are the vendors' own published figures on the date shown.

Sources

  1. AroFlo's pricing page states a starting price of $80 per user per month, minimum 3 users, with all plan features (including inbuilt compliance and safety forms) included on the single plan. AroFlo, checked 25 Sep 2026.
  2. Fergus AU pricing: Essentials from $53 a month, Professional from $77 a month; Essentials excludes Checklists, Forms, Job Phases, Purchase Orders, Tiered Pricing and Health & Safety (Hazards, SWMS); Professional includes all of these plus phone support. Fergus, checked 25 Sep 2026.
  3. Fergus's pricing page does not state how many full users its base Essentials or Professional price covers, or the cost of an additional full user. Fergus, checked 25 Sep 2026.
  4. AroFlo integrates with Xero, MYOB, QuickBooks and Reckon, and lists connections to Master Electricians Australia, NECA and BlueSafe. AroFlo, checked 25 Sep 2026.
  5. Fergus's plan comparison table lists Xero, QuickBooks and MYOB integrations on both tiers, and does not list a separate named asset management feature. Fergus, checked 25 Sep 2026.
  6. A Trustpilot reviewer described Fergus's asset management functionality as incomplete for their operation, among a 3.8 out of 5 rating from 14 reviews. Trustpilot, checked 25 Sep 2026.