FFP Guides

Software comparison

What does Fergus cost for an Australian trade business?

Fergus publishes two core plans: Essentials from $53 a month and Professional from $77 a month, both billed monthly with no lock-in contract. Fergus does not say how many full users that price covers, or what an extra full user costs; it only publishes add-on rates for Timesheet users, from $26 a month. From Fergus's own AU pricing page, checked 25 September 2026.

Last checked 25 Sep 2026 against the sources listed at the end of this page.

Fergus

Fergus suits a plumbing or electrical business that wants job cards and progress invoicing out of the box on Professional, and is willing to talk to Fergus's sales team to get an exact price once it grows past a handful of full users.

What it costs

AUD per month, billed monthly. Fergus's own FAQ describes GST being applied to invoices synced to Xero or MYOB, but the pricing page does not state whether the $53 and $77 subscription prices themselves are GST inclusive or exclusive.. Prices captured 25 Sep 2026 from Fergus.

Plan1 user3 users8 usersHow we worked it out
FergusEssentialsFrom $53Not publishedNot published$53 a month is Fergus's own 'from' price. The page does not say how many full users that covers or what an extra full user costs, so 3 and 8 user totals cannot be built from the public page.
FergusProfessionalFrom $77Not publishedNot published$77 a month is Fergus's own 'from' price, same gap: no published per-seat rate beyond the first.
FergusTimesheet user add-onFrom $26From $78From $208Published as a per-seat add-on for staff who only need to clock time, not full job access. 3 x $26 = $78. 8 x $26 = $208. Not a substitute for full Essentials or Professional seats.
FergusContractor user add-on$4 per day$12 per day$32 per dayPublished per user per day. 3 x $4 = $12 a day. 8 x $4 = $32 a day, so a monthly figure depends on how many days a month each contractor works.

Feature by feature

Fergus
Job phases and progress invoicingJob Phases and Tiered Pricing sit on Professional, not Essentials.
Checklists and formsIncluded on Professional only; Essentials excludes both.
Health and safety (SWMS, hazards)Professional only.
SupportEmail and chat on Essentials; phone, email and chat on Professional.
Accounting syncXero, QuickBooks and MYOB on both tiers, per the plan comparison table.
Asset managementNot listed as a named feature on either tier in Fergus's own plan comparison table.

Declared bias: FFP builds on ServiceM8, not Fergus

FFP Digital is a ServiceM8 developer with no commercial relationship with Fergus. We have priced Fergus from its own published page and flagged, rather than guessed at, the parts of that page that do not give a full user by user cost.

Two published starting prices, and a gap in between

Fergus's Australian pricing page lists Essentials "from $53 per month" and Professional "from $77 per month", with an Enterprise tier for crews over 10 that is quote only. Essentials leaves out checklists, forms, job phases, purchase orders, tiered pricing and the health and safety module (hazards and SWMS), and its support is email and chat only. Professional adds all of that plus phone support. Both plans are monthly, with no lock-in contract, a 14 day free trial, a free 1 hour onboarding session, and no setup fee stated.

What the page does not say is how many full user seats the $53 and $77 starting prices include, or what each additional full user costs beyond that. It only publishes two other seat types: a Timesheet user, for staff who just need to clock time, from $26 a month, and a Contractor user at $4 a user per day. A business trying to work out its exact monthly cost at 3 or 8 full users cannot do that from the public page; Fergus's own FAQ points buyers to its sales team for that number, so this page shows what is published and marks the rest clearly rather than guessing.

The fine print: GST, certificates and card fees

Fergus's FAQ says it "produces GST-compliant tax invoices and applies GST, then syncs the lot to Xero or MYOB" for the invoices your business raises to its own customers. That is a statement about the invoices Fergus helps you send, not a statement about whether your own $53 or $77 Fergus subscription fee is GST inclusive or exclusive; the pricing page does not say either way for the subscription itself.

Three other costs sit outside the plan fee on both tiers: compliance certificates at $30 for 1 to 9 staff or $80 for 10 or more, SMS alerts and reminders at $15 for 100 texts, and card payments at 1.95% plus 30 cents per transaction. These apply the same on Essentials and Professional, so they do not change which tier suits a plumbing business, only the running cost once you are on either one.

Common complaints and catches

Fergus

  • Xero integration reported as breaking, including blank invoice emails, by at least one reviewer
  • Price increases roughly every 6 to 12 months reported without matching new features
  • Asset management described by a reviewer as incomplete for their operation
  • Positive: interface, all in one workflow and the mobile app rated well by most reviewers
  • Positive: customer support responsiveness called out favourably in several reviews

Switching to or from it

Fergus bills seats in arrears: removing a user keeps them active until the end of the current billing period, then stops. The pricing page does not describe a bulk export for job history or forms if you leave Fergus, so confirm that in writing with Fergus support before you commit to a tier.

FFP Digital is a ServiceM8 developer and builds for Cliniko clinics. We have tried to be fair; prices are the vendors' own published figures on the date shown.

Sources

  1. Fergus AU pricing: Essentials from $53 per month, Professional from $77 per month, Enterprise for 10+ staff is a custom quote; monthly billing, no lock-in contracts, 14 day free trial, free 1 hour onboarding, no setup fees stated. Fergus, checked 25 Sep 2026.
  2. Essentials excludes Checklists, Forms, Job Phases, Purchase Orders, Tiered Pricing and Health & Safety (Hazards, SWMS), and has email and chat support only; Professional includes all of these plus phone support. Fergus, checked 25 Sep 2026.
  3. Fergus publishes Timesheet Users from $26 per month and Contractor Users at $4 per user per day as separate seat types, on both Essentials and Professional; the pricing page does not state how many full users the base $53 or $77 price includes or the cost of an additional full user. Fergus, checked 25 Sep 2026.
  4. Fergus produces GST-compliant tax invoices and applies GST, then syncs the invoices to Xero or MYOB, referring to the invoices a Fergus customer raises to their own clients. Fergus, checked 25 Sep 2026.
  5. Additional published costs: certificates at $30 for 1-9 staff or $80 for 10+ staff, SMS alerts and reminders at $15 for 100 texts, and credit card payments at 1.95% + $0.30 per transaction, the same on both plans. Fergus, checked 25 Sep 2026.
  6. Fergus holds a 3.8 out of 5 rating from 14 reviews on Trustpilot; recurring themes include reported broken Xero integrations and price increases roughly every 6 to 12 months without matching new features. Trustpilot, checked 25 Sep 2026.